Table 2

Distribution of trust across US Census Divisions

US Census DivisionShare of trusters (percentage)n
New England*46.751183
Middle Atlantic†37.673401
South Atlantic‡32.514804
East North Central§41.024620
East South Central¶27.031728
West North Central**48.521923
West South Central††28.852399
  • The US Census Division units comprise the following US states: 

  • *New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont .

  • †Middle Atlantic: New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania.

  • ‡South Atlantic: Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.

  • §East North Central: Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin.

  • ¶East South Central: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee.

  • **West North Central: Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, North Dakota, Minnesota, South Dakota and Missouri. 

  • ††West South Central: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas. 

  • ‡‡Mountain: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, New Mexico, Montana, Utah, Nevada and Wyoming. 

  • §§Pacific: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon and Washington,

  • Data source: GSS–NDI (1978–2010). n=25 270.

  • NDI, National Death Index; GSS, General Social Survey.