Table 7

Characteristics of accreditation requirements for screening mammography programmes in 10 countries, 1998

Administering bodyFrequency of renewalAccreditation components
EquipmentPersonnel7-1Results communicationFollow up/ abnormal resultsInformation systems
National programmes
AustraliaGovernment agencyTriennialYesEducation: R,TYesYesYes
Experience: R,T
IcelandGovernment agencyAnnualYesNoNoNoNo
IsraelGovernment agencyAnnualYesNoNoNoYes
NetherlandsProfessional associationAnnualYesEducation: R,TYesYesNo
Experience: R,T
LuxembourgGovernment agencyAnnualYesNoNoNoNo
State, provincial, local programmes
Canada7-152 Professional association, government agencyTriennialYesEducation: RNoNoNo
Sweden7-152 Professional associationOne timeYesEducation: R,T,MYesYesYes
Experience: R,T
Germany7-151 Government agencyTriennialYesEducation: R,T,MYesYesYes
Experience: R,T
UruguayPrivate sector organisationBiennialYesEducation: R,TYesYesNo
Experience: R,T
Registry programme
United States7-2 Professional association, government agencyTriennialYesEducation: R,T,MYesNoNo
Experience: R,T
  • 7-1 Personnel: R = radiologist, T = technologist (radiographer), M = medical physicist.

  • 7-2 Accreditation is required of all mammography facilities in the US under the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA).

  • 7-151 Denotes programme in implementation.

  • 7-152 Denotes countries with a decentralised (subnational) organisation of screening mammography, but in which the totality of organised screening programmes attains national coverage.